Jobs. The unemployed life of a 22 year old (Part 2)

So, to continue the rant I started earlier, I want to revisit how college brought us nowhere.  As bleak as that sounds.  However, I’ll reflect on my own personal experiences.

To get by and pay  for rent, food, various spending, furniture, bike repairs, and everything else…oh man, everything else…I got into the food industry.  First, I was a hostess at an Indian restaurant, then a server and cashier at a pizza place for a couple years, and finally became a bartender and have been sticking to that for the past 2 and half years.  I’ve always wanted to bartend for some reason, so I can never complain about it.  It’s great money, easy, and fun.

But isn’t it funny that a large majority of college students actually end up in the food industry for awhile?…“Oh you graduated college?  Great, take these burgers to table 24 for 3 years.”

Nevertheless, all that work took up a lot of my time in college.  It affected my studies, took away from the chance to participate in extracurricular activities, and didn’t free up my schedule to take up internships.  Now, the food industry is nice.  They’ll hire you if you don’t have a degree yet.  The Department of Agriculture most likely won’t even consider you unless you’ll work for free.  So I didn’t have much of a choice.  Did most people?…Not really.  Because of this, my resume isn’t ideal.

And that’s what I’m stuck with.  Applying online to hundreds of jobs (currently I’m at 192) with only my resume and a lousy cover letter to show for everything I did the past 22 years.  I graduated with my school saying “You have your degree!  Jobs will come begging for you!”…but then I had to realize after traveling that indeed a Bachelor’s Degree means the same a high school degree.  College is the new high school.

It doesn’t mean anything anymore!  One my closest friends never went to college and had the same exact catering gig that I had in New York.  Now he’s traveling through Southeast Asia and loving life.  He is more financially secure than I am.  What.

Here’s an example (that probably everyone knows now) of what employers are actually looking for: http://www.naceweb.org/about-us/press/skills-qualities-employers-want.aspx

Now, can anyone tell me they actually learn all of those qualities from college?  I would say probably not.  Definitely not.

So this is life these days.  We get in heaps of debt to pay for 18 years of school that teach us information on random subjects that have nothing to do with practical, real-life situations.  Then, we’re expected to graduate with impeccable grades, already having some sort of professional experience with no pay, expected to know how to pay our taxes, and have a grasp on leadership, teamwork,  and selling techniques which is what Employers actually look for.

It seems that something is amiss…

Leave a Reply

